November 22, 2017

ACTIVITIES

Residents enjoyed the increased number of activities in October including our Annual Pig Roast featuring the local band R Style, a very popular group with our residents. The ladies of Mid Life Crisis, a musical comedy group from Brooksville, entertained us at the Halloween Dinner Dance.  Numerous costumed residents competed for prizes. 

veterans_day_2017.jpgNovember started off with three events honoring our veterans.  The Harvest Dinner Dance on Friday, November 10, featured Fred Campbell’s Tribute to Veterans.  On Saturday morning, the City of Williston hosted the Veterans Day Parade.  Williston Crossings’ trolley was decked out in patriotic splendor.  Our veterans walked beside or rode the trolley while decorated golf carts and a vintage replica roadster followed behind.  

After the Williston parade, we travelled through the Resort displaying appreciation for our veterans.   Later that afternoon, a ceremony was held at our Memorial Garden.  Veterans from all branches of service participated.  The Raising of Colors and military flags was particularly moving.

veterans_quilt.jpg

A beautiful Red, White & Blue Quilt donated by Bonnie McClun was raffled.  The raffle was for veterans only and Bill Johnson was our winner!

On Thanksgiving Day, the clubhouse will be filled with more than 200 residents for a traditional dinner of turkey, ham and all the sides.  Residents will bring desserts to share.  Following this annual festive feast, we will retire to our homes with the obligatory “food coma.”  And…we will repeat this again next month with our annual Christmas Dinner!     

The theme for our New Year’s Eve Party is Bring in the New Year with a Mix of Music & Magic!"  Highlights of what is planned after the holidays are:

JANUARY:
Tues, Jan 2-Potluck (held every other Tues)
Thur, Jan 4-Resort Info Meeting
Fri, Jan 5-Resort Yard Sale
Fri, Jan 5-Dance with Brett Baker
Tues, Jan 9-Rib Night & Anthem Family Concert
Wed, Jan 10-Shuffleboard Fest (held 2nd Wed & last Sun)
Fri, Jan 12- Dance with Fred Campbell
Sun, Jan 14-Ice Cream Social (held every 2nd & 4th Sun)
Wed, Jan 17-Day Trip: Tampa RV Show
Fri, Jan 19-Meet ‘n Greet with Spoon Man
Wed, Jan 24-Day Trip:  Sarasota/Ringling Bros. Museum
 
FEBRUARY:
Fri, Feb 2-Boots & Britches Concert
Sun, Feb 4-Super Bowl Party
Fri, Feb 9-Mardi Gras Party
Sat, Feb 10-Gospel Concert with Rob Mills
Sun, Feb 11-Day Trip: Valentine River Cruise
Wed, Feb 14-Valentine’s Day Dinner Show
Thur, Feb 22-Day Trip: Tarpon Springs
Fri, Feb 23-Ladies Tea
Sat, Feb 24-Dance with Shadow Ridge Band
 
MARCH:
Wed, Mar 7-Day Trip: Casino Boat Trip
Fri, Mar 9-Talent Show
Sat, Mar 10-Craft Show
Fri, Mar 16-Music & Dance with Buchholz HS Jazz Band
Sat, Mar 11-St. Patrick’s Day Dinner Dance with Landslide
Mar 21, 22, 23 & 24-Until We Meet Again Celebration